Apollo 600 gripes

PATGuard 3 Forum

Apollo 600 gripes

Postby Jon » Wed Aug 20, 2014 11:34 am

Hi.
We have major problems with barcode reading on our Apollo 600,
which continue to slow testing and downloading of data between this new tester and PG3 software that only it will run on.
The problems with barcode reading of / . being replaced in the Apollo 600 with underscore _ were never a problem with our PT350 or 300s.
This problem seems to affect only the Apollo 600 with data input manually or Bluetooth Seaward Barcode reader.
Even if correct input of data with keyboard on the Apollo is performed, once downloaded to PG3, the data appears in the download window and we have to edit because it has reverted to underscore _ and would be stored as new equipment tested. The upload of equipment from PG3 to Apollo 600 also causes the Apollo 600 to fail to recognise / or . when barcode reading or manually entering data for retest to commence with recognised test procedures. The full stop is used in both Lab and Office Locations within our department eg: C003.1 is changed to C003_1 within the Apollo 600.
This equipment barcode reading error precludes any automatic retest recognition.
We are very keen to get these problems resolved as soon as possible, because any benefits of going forward with modern Seaward equipment or Software are proving a difficult sell, as it was never a problem with our other Seaward equipment.
Please help!!
Jon.
Jon
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2014 9:13 am

Re: Apollo 600 gripes

Postby Stephen Armstrong » Tue Sep 23, 2014 11:20 am

Thank you for your enquiry

Regarding underscore and other characters, this has already been passed to our Product Managers for consideration in a future update of the Apollo. However, please note we cannot say if this will be included or, if it is, give a timescale for this.

Kind regards
Technical Support
Stephen Armstrong
Technical Sales Engineer
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2013 8:35 am

Re: Apollo 600 gripes

Postby Jon » Fri Sep 26, 2014 11:09 am

Hi Steven, thanks for your reply.

I appreciate that there may not be many customers for which this would be a problem, but as our workshop does all in-house testing which covers around 3 sites and around 20,000 assets, there are at least 4,000 of these which use forward slashes or full stops within the unique identification barcode. As I mentioned in my first post, this has not been a problem on any of the PT300s or PT350s which we used from 2008 to 2013, when we purchased the new Apollo 600, so a quick timescale fix to address this problem would be appreciated.
On a last note, Apollo 600 does not have 2amp fuse as a selection, even though they still exist.
Thanks,

Jon.
Jon
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2014 9:13 am

Re: Apollo 600 gripes

Postby Stephen Armstrong » Mon Sep 29, 2014 9:31 am

Thank you for your enquiry

Regarding the 2 amp fuse, as with the characters we have added this to a suggestion list but again we cannot give you a timescale regarding implementation.

Kind regards
Technical Support
Stephen Armstrong
Technical Sales Engineer
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2013 8:35 am


Return to Portable Appliance Testing


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

 
 
cron