Source power for Seaward 3760 plus?

PATGuard 3 Forum

Source power for Seaward 3760 plus?

Postby ACDC » Thu Jul 28, 2016 2:52 pm

As I'm new to PAT testing, and most of our tools and leads are on greenfield sites off the grid, I've quickly discovered that a Honda EU20i generator is no good as the power source for the leakage test on a grinder etc. I've got it sweet on a domestic GPO, but when plugged into the darling little pure-sine Honda, the tester says STOP rather than fires up the tool as it's supposed to.
I'm thinking because there's no Earth reference; but no one I rang from the Seaward distributors here could say whether a decent generator should work, as a power source, or not.
Can someone advise?
ACDC

Re: Source power for Seaward 3760 plus?

Postby ACDC » Mon Aug 01, 2016 6:28 am

Many thanks to Jeff Macfarlane from Repelec who suggested I use my isolation transformer between the supply and load. Seaward PAT works fine now on both an old cage generator, and a cheap "pure sine wave" 12V to 230V inverter. No extra load or Earthing required.
ACDC

Postby ACDC » Tue Aug 02, 2016 6:39 am

Whoops! The isolation transformer is RCD's testing only, and as such isn't a power supply. So it let me know when it blew it's 400mA fuse this morning!
Back to the drawing board. A much bigger, heavy duty even, Isolation Transformer that can act as a power supply is what's needed.
Last edited by ACDC on Mon Aug 08, 2016 6:30 am, edited 1 time in total.
ACDC

Postby ACDC » Fri Aug 05, 2016 5:19 am

Jeff from Repelec kindly lent me a "heavier" isolation transformer, which managed to operate the PAT earth leakage test on a 500 watt drill, but popped it's fuse when asked the same on a 1250 watt circular saw. As the sticker on my little isolation transformer says, "this is not a power supply".