Page 1 of 1

Exteral Voltage Detected

PostPosted: Tue Aug 25, 2015 11:41 am
by southseas
When testing items (such as a pump) that have a starting capacitor in them- my PTE (Apollo 600) shows a warning splash screen- "Voltage detected on external probe" and won't perform an Earth Continuity test. Likewise, when testing a data router that has data cables plugged into it that have a signal boaster connected to one of them, it does the same thing.

This is a bit of a PITA, is there a way of suppressing the warning and running the test?

Re: Exteral Voltage Detected

PostPosted: Thu Aug 27, 2015 1:17 pm
by Amy Lyons
Hi southseas

I'm not sure why the tester would be coming up with this message on these items. Is it a particular brand of item or is it all items like this?

Re: Exteral Voltage Detected

PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2015 12:41 pm
by southseas
Is it a particular brand of item or is it all items like this?


Hi Amy, seems to be a random occurrence with any earthed item that may have an internal/external source of voltage. I've had the message come up when I've been testing terminals with hard data connections- unplug all the network cables, and it goes away- this cure isn't feasible if it detects the presence of voltage with a router etc.

Likewise, randomly with single phase motors that have a capacitor in their start windings

Re: Exteral Voltage Detected

PostPosted: Tue Sep 22, 2015 1:25 pm
by Phil Hoppe
Hi Southseas,
start the test and then plug the item in. This seems to be the recommended way around this challenge. Ive also found that grounding the active and neutral pins prior to the test is enough to discharge a capacitor and get started.