Page 1 of 1

Primetest Elite

PostPosted: Wed Nov 12, 2014 5:01 am
by verstapp
my Primetest 300 tests RCDs [not RCD's], but trips them in the process.
i was told the other day that the Primetest Elite will test RCDs without tripping them. if so, does anyone know how it goes about this?

Re: Primetest Elite

PostPosted: Thu Nov 20, 2014 6:17 pm
by Amy Lyons
Hi verstapp
The PrimeTest Elite is the Australian version of the UK tester Apollo 600. If you are located in Australia then please contact our reseller there Emona instruments for more information (http://www.emona.com.au/). If you are in the UK then this unit would not be appropriate for your needs and you should look at the Apollo range of testers. Both types of tester will test portable RCDs without tripping the mains supply RCD.

Re: Primetest Elite

PostPosted: Fri Nov 21, 2014 12:39 am
by verstapp
Hi Amy,
I wasn't asking where I could buy one but how it did the test.

Re: Primetest Elite

PostPosted: Fri Nov 21, 2014 6:11 am
by Alan Freeman
I think I am right in saying that the testing of RCDs must trip the item under test - otherwise how can the time to trip be calculated.

I think there is some confusion on what the "No trip" means, and Amy hinted on the answer. "Both types of tester will test portable RCDs without tripping the mains supply RCD."

It will trip the RCD under test but not the SUPPLY RCD

Re: Primetest Elite

PostPosted: Mon Nov 24, 2014 4:40 am
by verstapp
Thanks Alan, Amy.

Re: Primetest Elite

PostPosted: Tue Nov 25, 2014 9:41 am
by southseas
The Apollo/Primetest Elite has an in built isolation transformer which powers the Portable RCD under an RCD test, Amy can you tell me if the Aus/NZ version can test both 30mA and 10mA RCDs?

Specs on some websites only mention 30mA, but a couple refer to both

Re: Primetest Elite

PostPosted: Fri Dec 12, 2014 2:39 pm
by Amy Lyons
Hi Guys

Sorry for the delay.

Yes it will test both 10mA and 30mA. Just out of curiosity are you all based in AUS/NZ?