Primetest Elite

PATGuard 3 Forum

Primetest Elite

Postby verstapp » Wed Nov 12, 2014 5:01 am

my Primetest 300 tests RCDs [not RCD's], but trips them in the process.
i was told the other day that the Primetest Elite will test RCDs without tripping them. if so, does anyone know how it goes about this?
verstapp.
verstapp
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 5:06 am

Re: Primetest Elite

Postby Amy Lyons » Thu Nov 20, 2014 6:17 pm

Hi verstapp
The PrimeTest Elite is the Australian version of the UK tester Apollo 600. If you are located in Australia then please contact our reseller there Emona instruments for more information (http://www.emona.com.au/). If you are in the UK then this unit would not be appropriate for your needs and you should look at the Apollo range of testers. Both types of tester will test portable RCDs without tripping the mains supply RCD.
Thanks and kind regards

Amy Lyons
Applications Engineer
Test & Measurement Division
Seaward Electronic
User avatar
Amy Lyons
Applications Engineer
 
Posts: 171
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 2:40 pm
Location: Peterlee, UK

Re: Primetest Elite

Postby verstapp » Fri Nov 21, 2014 12:39 am

Hi Amy,
I wasn't asking where I could buy one but how it did the test.
verstapp.
verstapp
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 5:06 am

Re: Primetest Elite

Postby Alan Freeman » Fri Nov 21, 2014 6:11 am

I think I am right in saying that the testing of RCDs must trip the item under test - otherwise how can the time to trip be calculated.

I think there is some confusion on what the "No trip" means, and Amy hinted on the answer. "Both types of tester will test portable RCDs without tripping the mains supply RCD."

It will trip the RCD under test but not the SUPPLY RCD
Alan Freeman
 
Posts: 118
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 11:52 pm
Location: Bedford

Re: Primetest Elite

Postby verstapp » Mon Nov 24, 2014 4:40 am

Thanks Alan, Amy.
verstapp.
verstapp
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 5:06 am

Re: Primetest Elite

Postby southseas » Tue Nov 25, 2014 9:41 am

The Apollo/Primetest Elite has an in built isolation transformer which powers the Portable RCD under an RCD test, Amy can you tell me if the Aus/NZ version can test both 30mA and 10mA RCDs?

Specs on some websites only mention 30mA, but a couple refer to both
User avatar
southseas
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 10:34 pm

Re: Primetest Elite

Postby Amy Lyons » Fri Dec 12, 2014 2:39 pm

Hi Guys

Sorry for the delay.

Yes it will test both 10mA and 30mA. Just out of curiosity are you all based in AUS/NZ?
Thanks and kind regards

Amy Lyons
Applications Engineer
Test & Measurement Division
Seaward Electronic
User avatar
Amy Lyons
Applications Engineer
 
Posts: 171
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 2:40 pm
Location: Peterlee, UK


Return to Portable Appliance Testing


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest

 
 
cron